loader image

Class of 2022 Scholarship Awards

May 17, 2022

Chloe Pearson
Grace Marlowe
Adam Hoyle
Emma Still

Morehead-Cain Scholars Program 

Congratulations to Chloe Pearson, Class of 2022!  Chloe has been named a Morehead-Cain Scholar of the University of NC at Chapel Hill.  The Morehead-Cain Foundation is home to the first merit scholarship established in the United States, founded at the first public university in the United States—the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Morehead-Cain is a four-year, fully funded educational experience for students of the highest caliber.  It also features a distinctive program of summer enrichment experiences designed to stretch students beyond their comfort zones. Selection criteria for the Morehead-Cain are leadership, moral force of character, academic achievement, and physical vigor. Only a handful of Morehead-Cain recipients are selected, solely on the basis of merit and accomplishment, from among the thousands of students who apply.

Levine Scholars Program 

Congratulations to Grace Marlowe, Class 2022!  Grace has been named a Levine Scholar of the University of NC at Charlotte.  The Levine Scholars Program is UNC Charlotte’s most prestigious merit scholarship program. Levine Scholarships are awarded to extraordinary high school seniors based on scholarship, ethical leadership, and civic engagement. 

The four-year scholarship includes full tuition, room, board, a grant to implement a service project of the Scholar’s own design, and four summers of experiences that will develop leadership skills, social awareness, and an international perspective. This prestigious scholarship is only awarded to 20 students annually.

Wofford Scholar

Congratulations to Adam Hoyle, Class 2022!  Adam has been named a Wofford Scholar of Wofford College.  The Charles E. Daniel Scholarship is awarded through the Wofford Scholars Programs and provides a full, four-year scholarship. This highly competitive scholarship is the largest merit-based scholarship opportunity offered at Wofford College. Students who display excellence in the classroom, instincts to lead, and a dedication to serving others. In memory of Mr. Daniel, the Daniel family has provided this scholarship for identifying and developing effective leadership. 

Anderson University Fellows Scholar 

Congratulations to Emma Still, Class of 2022!  Emma has received the Anderson University Fellows Scholarship.  Anderson Fellows Scholarship applicants must meet the academic requirements of a 3.5 GPA and one of the following test scores: 1200 SAT or 27 ACT. The ability to apply for the Fellows Scholarship is by invitation only. Upon receipt of an invitation to apply, students must submit a Fellows Scholarship application, essay, resume, and two letters of recommendation. Selected applicants are then invited to attend an on-campus event that includes a scholarship interview, presentations by key administrators and academic leaders, and the opportunity to connect with their fellow competitors.  The Fellow Scholarship is the highest tiered academic scholarship offered at Anderson University giving competitors the opportunity to earn as much as full tuition and more.

Jake Sosebee
Jaylen Orr
Corrie Cloninger
Cara Armstrong
Dakota Hawxwell
David Moore

Gardner-Webb University Scholars

Gaston Christian School has 6 distinguished GWU Scholars in the Class of 2022:

Trustee Scholarship worth $18,000 per year

  • Jake Sosebee, Jaylen Orr, and Corrie Cloninger

Presidential Scholarship worth $15.000 per year

  • Cara Armstrong

Provost Scholarship worth $13,500 per year

  • Dakota Hawxwell and David Moore

Congratulations to these students for receiving these awards based on GPA, test scores, and overall character and service!

Lacie Grubbs
Jayden Branch
Jonathan Purtell
Corrie Cloninger
Lauren Fisher
Allie Guy

University of South Carolina’s Honor College

Congratulations to Lacie Grubbs, Jayden Branch, and Jonathan Purtell, Class of 2022!   

As an out-of-state resident, Lacie Grubbs has received the Distinction Scholars Award from USC totaling more than $62,000 over the course of 4 years. The Distinction Award recipient has an average SAT score of 1327 or ACT score of 29, and an average weighted GPA of 4.3. Recipients of this award also receive a significant tuition reduction rate.

Also, as an out-of-state resident, Jayden Branch has been awarded the Excellence Award totaling more than $92,000.  The Excellence Award has an average SAT score of 1490 or an ACT score of 34, and an average weighted GPA of 4.6. Recipients of this award qualify for the in-state tuition rate and also receive a significant tuition reduction

As an in-state resident of SC, Jonathan Purtell has received the distinction of Dean’s Scholar.  Recipients of this award have an average SAT score of 1415 or ACT score of 31, and an average weighted GPA of 4.9. He also received the Presidential Scholars Award. This award is for students who have been named a Palmetto Fellow and score a minimum of 1450 on the SAT or 33 on the ACT. As a SC Palmetto Fellows Scholar, Dean’s Scholar, and Presidential Scholar, Jonathan will receive more than $56,000 in scholarship monies.  The Palmetto Scholar is the state of South Carolina’s highest scholarship.

Caromont Foundation Scholarships

Congratulations to Corrie Cloninger, Class of 2022!  Corrie has been awarded the Lonnie and Rachel Waggoner Nursing Education Scholarship ($1000) and The CaroMont Health Auxiliary Gertrude Clinton Health Career Scholarship ($4000).

North Greenville University Scholar

Congratulations to Lauren Fisher, Class of 2022!  Lauren has received the Founder’s Scholarship, which is the highest merit scholarship awarded at North Greenville University.  She will receive $10,000 per year.  Along with this scholarship, Lauren was selected to be a part of Joyful Sound, a touring ministry worship group that goes out to share Christ through song and testimony.  Joyful Sound recipients also receive scholarship monies toward tuition and fees.

Baylor University Distinction Award

Congratulations to Allie Guy, Class of 2022!  Allie has been awarded a merit scholarship of distinction from Baylor University totaling $72,000, based on a complete and holistic review of her high school performance.   Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution.



Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!