KINDERGARTEN

At Gaston Christian, students are known by name and cared for as they develop a lifelong love of learning. Our education model is designed to help students recognize their full potential — and that starts with our youngest learners. Following a holistic approach that cares for the entire child, our kindergarten programs offer a nurturing environment where students are comfortable exploring newfound skills as they grow academically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually.

Families can select from two kindergarten programs: 

  • Half-Day Program | 8:15 a.m. to 12 p.m., five days a week
  • Full-Day Program | 8:15 a.m. to 2:10 p.m., five days a week

Parents looking for additional social interaction and care can enroll their child in our Extended Care Program. Here, students are placed with other students from the same grade and enjoy fun activities. After Care is available each day until 6 p.m.  

Enriched Learning 

Our kindergarten programs take an active learning approach and use hands-on activities to guide students to an age-appropriate understanding of core subject concepts. Utilizing Abeka curriculum, a focus is placed on developing problem-solving and comprehension skills that will carry students into elementary school. Classes are kept small to promote a stimulating and fun learning environment where students can feel out their unique God-given skills and talents. 

At the kindergarten level, core subject areas include: 

  • Phonics 
  •  Penmanship
  • Guided Reading 
  • Math
  • Bible

In addition to core subject areas, students have the opportunity to join our weekly specials, which are designed to reinforce learning and enhance academic growth. These classes include: 

  • Art
  • Library
  • Music
  • PE
  • Technology

Christ-centered Environment 

Quality teaching goes beyond the classroom as staff disciple students in their relationship with God. Building on a strong biblical foundation established in our preschool, teachers passionately model Christ as they encourage students to think creatively and critically through a Christian worldview. Students are led through daily Bible study and stories, weekly memory verses, and attend chapel service (every other week). As part of our Character Education study, we use biblical integration throughout our curriculum. Teachers use assertive discipline, which is a system of rewards for positive behavior and consequences for inappropriate actions.  

Are they ready for kindergarten? 

At Gaston Christian, we understand that each child learns at their own pace and knowing when they are ready to start kindergarten can be a challenging decision. That’s why we offer families our KinderReady Parent’s Guide — a free ebook resource that includes a comprehensive list of suggestions to evaluate your child’s readiness for kindergarten. 

Download our guide to learn more about what a day in the life of a kindergartner at Gaston Christian looks like, and review frequently asked questions by parents like you. 

 

Elementary School Principal 

Susan Jennings

Susan received a degree from Southern Wesleyan University, where she studied psychology and education. She has been married to David Jennings for 41 years. Their three children are graduates of Gaston Christian School: Allison works in restaurant management; Holly is a stay-at-home mom to Susan’s first grandchild, Heidi June Lambert; David II is an oncology nurse practitioner at Levine Cancer Center in Charlotte. Susan has been with GCS for 27 years.

She taught at the Catawba Heights Campus, and then moved to the Parkwood Campus as the elementary principal, and now serves as Early Childhood Principal. She formerly taught at Kernersville Wesleyan Academy (Kernersville, NC), First Wesleyan Christian School (Gastonia, NC), and Nazarene Christian School (Asheville, NC).

Early Childhood Staff Directory

Staff Member Department Email Address
Adams, Charlotte Secretary cadams@gastonchristian.org
Brack, Heidi Music Teacher hbrack@gastonchristian.org
Bungard, Lindsey Pre-K Teacher lbungard@gastonchristian.org
Chapman, Amanda Pre-K Teacher achapman@gastonchristian.org
Freeman, Angel Teacher - K afreeman@gastonchristian.org
Gale, Beverly Teacher Assistant bgale@gastonchristian.org
Gordon, Tammy Librarian tgordon@gastonchristian.org
Hardin, Jackie Pre-K Teacher jhardin@gastonchristian.org
Jennings, Susan Principal sjennings@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason PE Teacher jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Mullis, Alicia Teacher-K amullis@gastonchristian.org
Patterson, Kimberly Teacher-K kpatterson@gastonchristian.org
Patton, Maureen 3 Year Old's Classroom Assistant maureenpatton@gastonchristian.org
Peach, Vicki Pre-K Teacher vpeach@gastonchristian.org
Pettit, Micki Early Childhood Assistant mpettit@gastonchristian.org
Simmons, Annette Teacher - K asimmons@gastonchristian.org
Spear, Sharon Registered Nurse sspear@gastonchristian.org
Trakas, Emily Pre-K Teacher etrakas@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara Registered Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org
Winter, Teresa Pre-K Teacher twinter@gastonchristian.org

 

 

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This