loader image

KINDERGARTEN

At Gaston Christian, students are known by name and cared for as they develop a lifelong love of learning. Our education model is designed to help students recognize their full potential — and that starts with our youngest learners. Following a holistic approach that cares for the entire child, our kindergarten programs offer a nurturing environment where students are comfortable exploring newfound skills as they grow academically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually.

Families can select from two kindergarten programs: 

  • Half-Day Program | 8:15 a.m. to 12 p.m., five days a week
  • Full-Day Program | 8:15 a.m. to 2:10 p.m., five days a week

Parents looking for additional social interaction and care can enroll their child in our Extended Care Program. Here, students are placed with other students from the same grade and enjoy fun activities. After Care is available each day until 6 p.m.  

Enriched Learning 

Our kindergarten programs take an active learning approach and use hands-on activities to guide students to an age-appropriate understanding of core subject concepts. Utilizing Abeka curriculum, a focus is placed on developing problem-solving and comprehension skills that will carry students into elementary school. Classes are kept small to promote a stimulating and fun learning environment where students can feel out their unique God-given skills and talents. 

At the kindergarten level, core subject areas include: 

  • Phonics 
  •  Penmanship
  • Guided Reading 
  • Math
  • Bible

In addition to core subject areas, students have the opportunity to join our weekly specials, which are designed to reinforce learning and enhance academic growth. These classes include: 

  • Art
  • Library
  • Music
  • PE
  • Technology

Christ-centered Environment 

Quality teaching goes beyond the classroom as staff disciple students in their relationship with God. Building on a strong biblical foundation established in our preschool, teachers passionately model Christ as they encourage students to think creatively and critically through a Christian worldview. Students are led through daily Bible study and stories, weekly memory verses, and attend chapel service (every other week). As part of our Character Education study, we use biblical integration throughout our curriculum. Teachers use assertive discipline, which is a system of rewards for positive behavior and consequences for inappropriate actions.  

 

 

Early Childhood Principal 

Annette Simmons

Annette Simmons is excited to be the Early Childhood Principal. She graduated from UNC-Greensboro with a Bachelor’s degree in Education. Mrs. Simmons is bringing her 32 years of experience and skill as a Gaston Christian Kindergarten teacher to the leadership team. It brings Mrs. Simmons much joy to lead her staff in continuing to support the GCS families with outstanding Christian education. Mrs. Simmons and her husband have two children who graduated from GCS, as well as two grandchildren currently enrolled. 

Early Childhood Directory
Staff Member Department Email Address
Abernathy, Mary Afterschool Director mabernathy@gastonchristian.org
Bergan, Kristen Elementary Counselor (K-5th) kbergan@gastonchristian.org
Chapman, Amanda Pre-K Teacher achapman@gastonchristian.org
Christenbury, Taylor Teacher's Aid tchristenbury@gastonchristian.org
Cook, Dr. Tina Director of Cognitive Enrichment tcook@gastonchristian.org
Gale, Beverly Preschool 3 Teacher bgale@gastonchristian.org
Garrity, Katie Preschool 3 Teacher kgarrity@gastonchristian.org
Gordon, Tammy Librarian (K-5th) tgordon@gastonchristian.org
Griffin, Katie Cognitive Enrichment Teacher (K-5th) kgriffin@gastonchristian.org
Hardin, Jackie Kindergarten Teacher jhardin@gastonchristian.org
Kettelhut, Lori Preschool 3 Teacher Assistant lkettelhut@gastonchristian.org
Kimak, Jennifer Preschool 3 Teacher Assistant jkimak@gastonchristian.org
Lambert, Holly Art Teacher (K-5th) hlambert@gastonchristian.org
Langley, Jessica Preschool 3 Teacher Assistant jlangley@gastonchristian.org
Lester, Patrick PE Teacher (K-5th) plester@gastonchristian.org
Lovelace, Brandon Computer Teacher (K-2nd) blovelace@gastonchristian.org
Lowrimore, Ana Early Childhood Secretary alowrimore@gastonchristian.org
McGinnis, Ashley Kindergarten Teacher amcginnis@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason PE Teacher (K-5th) jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Mullis, Alicia Kindergarten Teacher amullis@gastonchristian.org
Patterson, Kimberly Kindergarten Teacher kpatterson@gastonchristian.org
Patton, Maureen Preschool 3 Teacher maureenpatton@gastonchristian.org
Peach, Vicki Pre-K Teacher vpeach@gastonchristian.org
Pena, Fiorella Music Teacher (K-2nd) fpena@gastonchristian.org
Simmons, Annette Early Childhood Principal asimmons@gastonchristian.org
Stacy, Teri Elementary Secretary tstacy@gastonchristian.org
Thomas, Celestine Pre-K Teacher cthomas@gastonchristian.org
Trakas, Emily Pre-K Teacher etrakas@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara School Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org
Whittington, Kristy Preschool 3 Teacher Assistant kwhittington@gastonchristian.org

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This