KINDERGARTEN

At Gaston Christian, students are known by name and cared for as they develop a lifelong love of learning. Our education model is designed to help students recognize their full potential — and that starts with our youngest learners. Following a holistic approach that cares for the entire child, our kindergarten programs offer a nurturing environment where students are comfortable exploring newfound skills as they grow academically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually.

Families can select from two kindergarten programs: 

  • Half-Day Program | 8:15 a.m. to 12 p.m., five days a week
  • Full-Day Program | 8:15 a.m. to 2:10 p.m., five days a week

Parents looking for additional social interaction and care can enroll their child in our Extended Care Program. Here, students are placed with other students from the same grade and enjoy fun activities. After Care is available each day until 6 p.m.  

Enriched Learning 

Our kindergarten programs take an active learning approach and use hands-on activities to guide students to an age-appropriate understanding of core subject concepts. Utilizing Abeka curriculum, a focus is placed on developing problem-solving and comprehension skills that will carry students into elementary school. Classes are kept small to promote a stimulating and fun learning environment where students can feel out their unique God-given skills and talents. 

At the kindergarten level, core subject areas include: 

  • Phonics 
  •  Penmanship
  • Guided Reading 
  • Math
  • Bible

In addition to core subject areas, students have the opportunity to join our weekly specials, which are designed to reinforce learning and enhance academic growth. These classes include: 

  • Art
  • Library
  • Music
  • PE
  • Technology

Christ-centered Environment 

Quality teaching goes beyond the classroom as staff disciple students in their relationship with God. Building on a strong biblical foundation established in our preschool, teachers passionately model Christ as they encourage students to think creatively and critically through a Christian worldview. Students are led through daily Bible study and stories, weekly memory verses, and attend chapel service (every other week). As part of our Character Education study, we use biblical integration throughout our curriculum. Teachers use assertive discipline, which is a system of rewards for positive behavior and consequences for inappropriate actions.  

 

 

Early Childhood & Elementary School Principal 

Bethany Meekins

Bethany Meekins-Coloma is excited to be joining the Gaston Christian School family as the new Elementary Principal. Though originally from New York, Mrs. Meekins and her husband Santiago are joining GCS after serving the last twelve years as missionaries in Quito, Ecuador where she led as the Elementary Principal (2017-2020). Before her role as Elementary Principal, Mrs. Meekins has supported students and families in Christian Education through various roles including Curriculum & Instruction Coordinator, Early Childhood Administrator, and Kindergarten Teacher. In addition to a Bachelor of Social Work (2003) and a Masters of Science in Multidisciplinary Studies (2010), Mrs. Meekins also earned a Masters of Education in Ed. Leadership (2017). As the GCS Elementary Principal for preschool through 5th Grade, Mrs. Meekins looks forward to partnering with our dedicated staff and committed families to strengthen the hearts and minds of our students. 

Early Childhood Directory

Staff Member Department Email Address
Adams, Charlotte Secretary cadams@gastonchristian.org
Alston, Denika Assistant Principal dalston@gastonchristian.org
Bungard, Lindsey 3-year-old Teacher lbungard@gastonchristian.org
Chapman, Amanda Pre-K Teacher achapman@gastonchristian.org
Freeman, Angel Kindergarten Teacher afreeman@gastonchristian.org
Gale, Beverly 3-year-old Teacher bgale@gastonchristian.org
Garrity, Katie 3's Teacher Assistant kgarrity@gastonchristian.org
Gordon, Tammy Librarian tgordon@gastonchristian.org
Hardin, Jackie Pre-K Teacher jhardin@gastonchristian.org
Kettelhut, Lori 3's Teacher Assistant lkettlehut@gastonchristian.org
Matheney, Jalyn 3's Teacher Assitant jmatheney@gastonchristian.org
Matheney, Kyle Music Teacher kmatheney@gastonchristian.org
Meekins, Bethany Principal bmeekins@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason PE Teacher jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Mullis, Alicia Kindergarten Teacher amullis@gastonchristian.org
Patterson, Kimberly Kindergarten Teacher kpatterson@gastonchristian.org
Patton, Maureen 3-year-old Teacher maureenpatton@gastonchristian.org
Peach, Vicki Pre-K Teacher vpeach@gastonchristian.org
Pettit, Micki Early Childhood Assistant mpettit@gastonchristian.org
Simmons, Annette Kindergarten Teacher asimmons@gastonchristian.org
Trakas, Emily Pre-K Teacher etrakas@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara Registered Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org

 

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This