ACADEMICS

Gaston Christian School, founded in 1980, is a non-denominational, college-preparatory school serving more than 900 students in grades PK-3 through 12.

Quick Page Links

EARLY CHILDHOOD

We believe in the development of the whole child, and our curriculum (beginning with our youngest learners) is designed to bring out the full potential of each of our students.

Our teachers create a supportive, stimulating and fun environment that allows our youngest students to grow into confident and independent individuals and develop a lifelong love of learning. Because our classes are small and personal, children can explore their unique skills and talents, while developing new friendships and new confidence. We help your child build a wide range of skills for success, from learning to interact with peers to acquiring the foundations for scholastic success.

For three-year olds, students have Bible instruction and memorization; fine arts enrichment through music and art; regular show-and-tell; mastery of colors, shapes, days of the week, and months of the year. There is an emphasis on socialization and the concept of sharing. For four-year olds, the students will have Bible instruction and memorization; an introduction to phonics and number concepts; manuscript writing; and fine arts enrichment through music, art, and poetry. There is an emphasis on socialization and the concept of sharing. Field trips are also planned to reinforce learning.

 

ACADEMICS

EARLY CHILDHOOD PRINCIPAL

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

Our Elementary School program builds upon the strong Biblical and academic foundation of our pre-school and kindergarten.  The elementary program uses a blend of Abeka, Bob Jones, and Purposeful Design curriculum.

Scott Foresman Reading Street and Sadlier-Oxford Vocabulary Workshop are used in 5th grade.  Students also have a weekly rotation of Fine Arts, computer skills, library, and physical education. From “See You At The Pole” in September to National Day of Prayer in May, our students quickly learn about the power of prayer and it’s importance in our everyday lives.  We have a group of dedicated parents that meet on campus every Thursday morning to lift up our school, our students and their families, our faculty and our administration, our community, our nation and our leaders.  Elementary students also attend Chapel for a time of worship and continued teaching from the Bible and also have opportunities to lead worship in our Chapel times.

Elementary students have many opportunities for enrichment through activities such as Girls on the Run (girls in grades 3-5), 5th Grade Band, Bricks for Kidz and we have recently started a Cyberkids Robotics team for 4th and 5th graders.  Students in grades 1-5 are also able to participate in our Jr. Eagles Athletic program in soccer, basketball, cheerleading, t-ball, and coach pitch.  Our High school students also provided after-school sports clinics for our Elementary students. Technology is one of our focuses as we work to engage the 21st century learner.  We have recently added two Net Book labs for teachers to take into their classrooms. Several of our classrooms have interactive whiteboards installed for the students to utilize in addition to several mobile interactive whiteboards in our building. Our desire is that Christ is glorified through all that we do at GCS.

ACADEMICS

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

 MIDDLE SCHOOL

ACADEMICS

 MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

Jonathan Huitt

Jonathan Huitt

Jonathan Huitt double majored at Liberty University in Biology and Chemistry. He then attended UNC-Charlotte and got his certification in Middle Grades Science and an M.A. in Education. Jonathan then attended Liberty University for his M.Ed with a concentration in Supervision and Leadership with a certification in administration from the state of Virginia. He is currently writing his dissertation to complete his Ph.D. in Organizational Leadership from Columbia International University. 

Jonathan is a product of Christian school and has been involved in Christian education either through being a student or teacher for almost thirty years.  Jonathan has been a teacher, coach, or administrator in the middle school at Gaston Christian for fifteen years. Jonathan is passionate about Christian Education and loves middle school students! Jonathan has a wife and three children. All three children attend Gaston Christian School.

MIDDLE SCHOOL Staff Directory

 

Staff Member Department Email Address
Brack, Heidi Music & MS Concert Chorus hbrack@gastonchristian.org
Cook, Tina Math 6/Pre-Algebra 8/Dean of Students tcook@gastonchristian.org
Currence, Kay After School Care Director kcurrence@gastonchristian.org
Denham, Julie History 8/Bible 7 jdenham@gastonchristian.org
Frady, Amber English 6 afrady@gastonchristian.org
Grahl, Patricia Science 6/Science 8 pgrahl@gastonchristian.org
Gunter, John Band/Music 8 jgunter@gastonchristian.org
Huitt, Jonathan Principal jchuitt@gastonchristian.org
Lambert, Holly Art hlambert@gastonchristian.org
Loeffler, Olivia MS PE 6,7, 8 (Girls) oloeffler@gastonchristian.org
Lynn, Stephanie Bible 6/Foreign Language slynn@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason MS PE 6, 7, 8 (Boys) jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Parker, Karen Staff kparker@gastonchristian.org
Peckman, Joel Algebra 8/Bible 8 jpeckman@gastonchristian.org
Rabb, Pattiann English 8 prabb@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Trina Technology & Personal Finance trobinson@gastonchristian.org
Taylor, April Pre-Algebra 7/Science 7 apriltaylor@gastonchristian.org
VanZant, Terry History 6 & 7 tvanzant@gastonchristian.org
Williams, Lizzie English 7 ewilliams@gastonchristian.org

 

 

 HIGH SCHOOL

ACADEMICS

HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

Dr. Joel Uecker

Dr. Joel Uecker

Dr. Joel Uecker (the U is silent) is our new Associate Head of School/High School Principal for Gaston Christian School. Dr. Uecker is a seasoned veteran of Christian education. He graduated from Norfolk Christian School, attended Wheaton College in Wheaton, Illinois, where he earned his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees and has a Doctorate Degree from Columbia International University in Columbia, SC. Dr. Uecker will be over the academic areas of the school. 

HIGH SCHOOL Staff Directory

Name Subject Email
Abromaitis, Becky Yearbook, Art babromaitis@gastonchristian.org
Barrett, Tim Chaplain, Bible tbarrett@gastonchristian.org
Brack, Heidi Choral hbrack@gastonchristian.org
Brandon, Melissa Technology Support mbrandon@gastonchristian.org
Brooks, Karen International Students kbrooks@gastonchristian.org
Collins, Ricky Band, Praise Team rcollins@gastonchristian.org
Connell, Ken Social Studies kconnell@gastonchristian.org
Erwin, Randy Director of Communications rerwin@gastonchristian.org
Grahl, Joshua Science jgrahl@gastonchristian.org
Hartley, Ashley Bible/Communications ahartley@gastonchristian.org
Hartley, Kevin Math khartley@gastonchristian.org
Hawxwell, Tom Athletic Director thawxwell@gastonchristian.org
Huelsman, Dr. Shirley Academic Dean, English shuelsman@gastonchristian.org
Huitt, Justin Health/PE jdhuitt@gastonchristian.org
Lands, Karen English klands@gastonchristian.org
Loeffler, Olivia Health/PE oloeffler@gastonchristian.org
Lovelace, Brandon Video & Visual Design blovelace@gastonchristian.org
Lynn, Adam Administration, Math alynn@gastonchristian.org
Medlin, Maralie Director of Fine Arts, Theatre Arts mmedlin@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Mark Bible, Spanish mmoore@gastonchristian.org
Oates, Justin English joates@gastonchristian.org
Overton, Jill Art joverton@gastonchristian.org
Pratt, Christa Social Studies cpratt@gastonchristian.org
Ramsey, Susan Math sramsey@gastonchristian.org
Roach, Amanda Science aroach@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Mike Security mrobinson@gastonchristian.org
SanMillan, Bethsy Spanish bsanmillan@gastonchristian.org
Schofield, Les Theatre Arts lschofield@gastonchristian.org
Smith, Barbara Administrative Assistant bsmith@gastonchristian.org
Tankersley, Rev. Mark Bible
Turpin, Chelsea School Counselor cturpin@gastonchristian.org
Uecker, Dr. Joel Associate Head of School/High School Principal juecker@gastonchristian.org
vanPelt, Leigh Athletics lvanpelt@gastonchristian.org

 

 

OUR CAMPUS

There are approximately 900 students in the PK3 – grade 12 program on the school’s 66 acre campus.

Gaston Christian School

1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia NC

COME CHECK US OUT

BE OUR GUEST

Come spend some time with us and discover why Gaston Christian School may be THE CHRISTIAN SCHOOL FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This