ACADEMICS

Gaston Christian School, founded in 1980, is a non-denominational, college-preparatory school serving more than 900 students in grades PK-3 through 12.

Quick Page Links

EARLY CHILDHOOD

We believe in the development of the whole child, and our curriculum (beginning with our youngest learners) is designed to bring out the full potential of each of our students.

Our teachers create a supportive, stimulating and fun environment that allows our youngest students to grow into confident and independent individuals and develop a lifelong love of learning. Because our classes are small and personal, children can explore their unique skills and talents, while developing new friendships and new confidence. We help your child build a wide range of skills for success, from learning to interact with peers to acquiring the foundations for scholastic success.

For three-year olds, students have Bible instruction and memorization; fine arts enrichment through music and art; regular show-and-tell; mastery of colors, shapes, days of the week, and months of the year. There is an emphasis on socialization and the concept of sharing. For four-year olds, the students will have Bible instruction and memorization; an introduction to phonics and number concepts; manuscript writing; and fine arts enrichment through music, art, and poetry. There is an emphasis on socialization and the concept of sharing. Field trips are also planned to reinforce learning.

 

ACADEMICS

EARLY CHILDHOOD PRINCIPAL

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

Our Elementary School program builds upon the strong Biblical and academic foundation of our pre-school and kindergarten.  The elementary program uses a blend of Abeka, Bob Jones, and Purposeful Design curriculum.

Scott Foresman Reading Street and Sadlier-Oxford Vocabulary Workshop are used in 5th grade.  Students also have a weekly rotation of Fine Arts, computer skills, library, and physical education. From “See You At The Pole” in September to National Day of Prayer in May, our students quickly learn about the power of prayer and it’s importance in our everyday lives.  We have a group of dedicated parents that meet on campus every Thursday morning to lift up our school, our students and their families, our faculty and our administration, our community, our nation and our leaders.  Elementary students also attend Chapel for a time of worship and continued teaching from the Bible and also have opportunities to lead worship in our Chapel times.

Elementary students have many opportunities for enrichment through activities such as Girls on the Run (girls in grades 3-5), 5th Grade Band, Bricks for Kidz and we have recently started a Cyberkids Robotics team for 4th and 5th graders.  Students in grades 1-5 are also able to participate in our Jr. Eagles Athletic program in soccer, basketball, cheerleading, t-ball, and coach pitch.  Our High school students also provided after-school sports clinics for our Elementary students. Technology is one of our focuses as we work to engage the 21st century learner.  We have recently added two Net Book labs for teachers to take into their classrooms. Several of our classrooms have interactive whiteboards installed for the students to utilize in addition to several mobile interactive whiteboards in our building. Our desire is that Christ is glorified through all that we do at GCS.

ACADEMICS

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

 MIDDLE SCHOOL

ACADEMICS

 MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

VIRGINIA CONOVER

VIRGINIA CONOVER

Virginia Conover received her undergraduate degree from The King’s College with concentrations in elementary education, social studies, and linguistics. She has done additional graduate coursework at Carlowe College and Shenandoah University. Virginia is permanently certified in the state of Pennsylvania and has participated in administrative training through ACSI.

She has been involved in Christian education on the middle school level for 35 years having taught 11 years in Pennsylvania and Maryland. She has worked both in the classroom and administration at GCS for 25 years. Virginia has one son, Matthew, a GCS graduate. Matthew and his wife, Jana, and son John, live in St. Louis, Missouri, where Matthew is completing research in a post doctoral program at Washington University Medical Center.

MIDDLE SCHOOL Staff Directory

 

Staff Member Department Email Address
Brandon, Melissa Physical Education mbrandon@gastonchristian.org
Conover, Virginia Principal vconover@gastonchristian.org
Cook, Tina Math 6/Pre-Algebra 7 tcook@gastonchristian.org
Currence, Kay After School Care Director kcurrence@gastonchristian.org
Denham, Julie History/Bible 7 jdenham@gastonchristian.org
Engle, Rebekah Foreign Language rengle@gastonchristian.org
Freeman, Katie Guidance Counselor kfreeman@gastonchristian.org
Grahl, Patricia Science 6/Science 8 pgrahl@gastonchristian.org
Gunter, John Band/Music 8 jgunter@gastonchristian.org
Harrison, Diane English 7 dharrison@gastonchristian.org
Huitt, Jonathan Dean of Students/Science 7 jchuitt@gastonchristian.org
Jones, Joan Art jjones@gastonchristian.org
Loeffler, Olivia MS PE 6,7, 8 (Girls)
Lynn, Stephanie Bible 6/Foreign Language
Moore, Jason MS PE 6, 7, 8 (Boys)
Parker, Karen Staff kparker@gastonchristian.org
Peckman, Joel Algebra 8/Bible 8 jpeckman@gastonchristian.org
Pursley, Karla Music 6&7 kpursley@gastonchristian.org
Rabb, Pattiann English 8 prabb@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Trina Technology trobinson@gastonchristian.org
VanZant, Terry History 7&8 tvanzant@gastonchristian.org
Williams, Lizzie English 7 ewilliams@gastonchristian.org
Williams, Teresa English 6 twilliams@gastonchristian.org

 

 HIGH SCHOOL

ACADEMICS

HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

NANCY McDANIEL

NANCY McDANIEL

Nancy McDaniel received her undergraduate degree in English Education from Erskine College and holds a North Carolina teaching license in English/Language Arts (grades 6-12). In August 2008, she completed course requirements for a master’s degree in School Administration at Gardner-Webb University.

Nancy taught for six years with Gaston County Schools and has been on staff at Gaston Christian for 27 years. She currently serves as an Advanced Placement English teacher in addition to administrative responsibilities. Nancy and her husband Sam have two children, both graduates of Gaston Christian. David, his wife Sarah and grandsons Elliott and Joel live in Denver, Colorado; their daughter Liz and her husband Ben live in Gastonia, North Carolina.

HIGH SCHOOL Staff Directory

Name

Subject

Email

Abromaitis, Becky

Yearbook,  Art

babromaitis@gastonchristian.org

Barrett, Tim

Chaplain, Social Studies, Bible

tbarrett@gastonchristian.org

Barton, Debra

Media Services

dbarton@gastonchristian.org

Brandon, Melissa

Technology Support

mbrandon@gastonchristian.org

Brooks, Karen

International Students

kbrooks@gastonchristian.org

Connell, Ken

Social Studies

kconnell@gastonchristian.org

Joshua Grahl

Science

jgrahl@gastonchristian.org

Gunter, John

Band, Praise Team

jgunter@gastonchristian.org

Hartley, Ashley

Bible/Communications

ahartley@gastonchristian.org

Hartley, Kevin

Math

khartley@gastonchristian.org

Hawxwell, Tom

Athletic Director

thawxwell@gastonchristian.org

Huelsman, Dr. Shirley

Academic Dean, English

shuelsman@gastonchristian.org

Huitt, Justin

Health/PE

jdhuitt@gastonchristian.org

Engle, Eric

Technology

eengle@gastonchristian.org

Lands, Karen

English

klands@gastonchristian.org

Loeffler, Olivia

Health/PE

oloeffler@gastonchristian.org

Lynn, Adam

Administration, Math

alynn@gastonchristian.org

McDaniel, Nancy

Administration

nmcdaniel@gastonchristian.org

Medlin, Maralie

Director of Fine Arts, Theatre Arts

mmedlin@gastonchristian.org

Moore, Mark

Bible, Spanish

mmoore@gastonchristian.org

Overton, Jill

Art

joverton@gastonchristian.org

Roach, Amanda

Science

aroach@gastonchristian.org

Pratt, Christa

Social Studies

cpratt@gastonchristian.org

Pursley, Karla

Choral Music

kpursley@gastonchristian.org

Purtell, Ingrid

Math

ipurtell@gastonchristian.org

Robinson, Mike

Security

mrobinson@gastonchristian.org

SanMillan, Bethsy

Spanish

bsanmillan@gastonchristian.org

Schofield, Les

Theatre Arts

lschofield@gastonchristian.org

Smith, Barbara

Administrative Assistant

bsmith@gastonchristian.org

Tankersley, Rev. Mark

Bible

mtankersley@gastonchristian.org

Turpin, Chelsea

School Counselor

cturpin@gastonchristian.org

Watson, Christy

English

cwatson@gastonchristian.org

Whitley, Catherine

Science

cwhitley@gastonchristian.org

 

 

OUR CAMPUS

There are approximately 900 students in the PK3 – grade 12 program on the school’s 66 acre campus.

Gaston Christian School

1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia NC

COME CHECK US OUT

BE OUR GUEST

Come spend some time with us and discover why Gaston Christian School may be THE CHRISTIAN SCHOOL FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Camp Registration is Offline. Sorry for the inconvenience, registration is open Monday at 9AM through Friday at Noon.

Share This