PRESCHOOL

We believe in the development of the whole child, and the preschool curriculum (beginning with our youngest learners) is designed to bring out the full potential of each of our students.

Our early childhood education teachers create a supportive, stimulating and fun environment that allows our youngest students to grow into confident and independent individuals and develop a lifelong love of learning. Because our preschool classes are small and personal, children can explore their unique skills and talents, while developing new friendships and new confidence. We help your child build a wide range of skills for success, from learning to interact with peers to acquiring the foundations for scholastic success.

Programs for 3 and 4-Year-Olds

For three-year olds, students have Bible instruction and memorization; fine arts enrichment through music and art; regular show-and-tell; mastery of colors, shapes, days of the week, and months of the year. There is an emphasis on socialization and the concept of sharing. 

For four-year olds, the students will have Bible instruction and memorization; an introduction to phonics and number concepts; manuscript writing; and fine arts enrichment through music, art, and poetry. There is an emphasis on socialization and the concept of sharing. Field trips are also planned to reinforce learning.

Early Childhood Principal 

Susan Jennings

Susan received a degree from Southern Wesleyan University, where she studied psychology and education. She has been married to David Jennings for 41 years. Their three children are graduates of Gaston Christian School: Allison works in restaurant management; Holly is a stay-at-home mom to Susan’s first grandchild, Heidi June Lambert; David II is an oncology nurse practitioner at Levine Cancer Center in Charlotte. Susan has been with GCS for 27 years.

She taught at the Catawba Heights Campus, and then moved to the Parkwood Campus as the elementary principal, and now serves as Early Childhood Principal. She formerly taught at Kernersville Wesleyan Academy (Kernersville, NC), First Wesleyan Christian School (Gastonia, NC), and Nazarene Christian School (Asheville, NC).

Early Childhood Staff Directory

Staff Member Department Email Address
Adams, Charlotte Secretary cadams@gastonchristian.org
Brack, Heidi Music Teacher hbrack@gastonchristian.org
Bungard, Lindsey Pre-K Teacher lbungard@gastonchristian.org
Chapman, Amanda Pre-K Teacher achapman@gastonchristian.org
Freeman, Angel Teacher - K afreeman@gastonchristian.org
Gale, Beverly Teacher Assistant bgale@gastonchristian.org
Gordon, Tammy Librarian tgordon@gastonchristian.org
Hardin, Jackie Pre-K Teacher jhardin@gastonchristian.org
Jennings, Susan Principal sjennings@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason PE Teacher jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Mullis, Alicia Teacher-K amullis@gastonchristian.org
Patterson, Kimberly Teacher-K kpatterson@gastonchristian.org
Patton, Maureen 3 Year Old's Classroom Assistant maureenpatton@gastonchristian.org
Peach, Vicki Pre-K Teacher vpeach@gastonchristian.org
Pettit, Micki Early Childhood Assistant mpettit@gastonchristian.org
Simmons, Annette Teacher - K asimmons@gastonchristian.org
Spear, Sharon Registered Nurse sspear@gastonchristian.org
Trakas, Emily Pre-K Teacher etrakas@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara Registered Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org
Winter, Teresa Pre-K Teacher twinter@gastonchristian.org

 

 

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This