loader image

MIDDLE SCHOOL

MIDDLE SCHOOL AT GASTON CHRISTIAN SCHOOL

 

Grades 6-8 are formative years. During this unique season of life, pre-teens need a strong community, positive mentors, and a variety of new challenges and opportunities. At Gaston Christian School, we partner with parents to educate their children and foster a biblical worldview. When it comes time for your child to move onto high school, they will have a strong academic foundation and an identity rooted in Christ. 

 

At GCS, your child will:

 

  • Be taught by fun-loving teachers who are passionate about connecting with middle school students on their level
  • Move through an academically rigorous curriculum that is filled with innovative projects and hands-on learning experiences
  • Develop strong character and be disciplined in a way that does not focus on punishment, but rather on seeking restoration and teaching lifelong lessons
  • Grow spiritually through regular opportunities to worship, study the Bible, and be mentored by Christian role models

 

As a middle school parent, you can expect:

 

  • Individual Attention — At GCS your child will be known, and his or her teachers are always available to discuss their academic, social, or spiritual progress.
  • Values Alignment — We teach and emphasize Christian character daily, so you can rest assured that what you are teaching at home is being modeled at school.
  • Strong Community — Whether in the classroom, on the athletic field, or in performing arts, parents are invited and encouraged to be involved in their child’s school life.
  • Growing Independence — Students move through an eight-period school day, choose their own electives, and try many new activities, which builds confidence and independence. 

 

See it for yourself!

Schedule a tour at Gaston Christian School.

Words from a Middle School Student

 

 “When I’m asked what my favorite grade was at GCS, I always say my middle school years. This is where I grew most — not only academically, but spiritually and emotionally as well. I have no doubt in my mind that it was because of the middle school teachers who poured into me on a daily basis. I will forever be thankful for the GCS middle school team and everything they did for me.” 

– Lauren F. 

 

Reasons Other Parents are Choosing GCS for Middle School:

 

Enriching Student Life — Class field trips, spirit week, academic competitions, and community events create meaningful opportunities for students to connect and grow in their skills together. Favorites include our annual retreat to Crowder Ridge and seasonal service projects such as the Souper Bowl of Caring and Operation Christmas Child.

Leadership Opportunities — Whether in student government, the Junior Beta Club, STEM, Young Entrepreneurs, or athletics, students develop leadership skills to benefit them for life. 

A Safe Community — Our campus is highly secure, and we work tirelessly to ensure every student feels socially, emotionally, and spiritually safe as well. 

 

What questions do you have?

Our admissions director would love to answer them and tell you more about the middle school program at Gaston Christian. Contact Lindsay Lockett at (704) 824-4128 today or click here to plan your visit.

Middle School Principal 

Jonathan Huitt

Jonathan Huitt double majored at Liberty University in Biology and Chemistry. He then attended UNC-Charlotte and got his certification in Middle Grades Science and an M.A. in Education. Jonathan then attended Liberty University for his M.Ed with a concentration in Supervision and Leadership with a certification in administration from the state of Virginia. He finished his Ph.D. in Organizational Leadership from Columbia International University in 2021.

Jonathan is a product of a Christian school and has been involved in Christian education either through being a student or teacher for over thirty years. Jonathan has been a teacher, coach, and administrator in the middle school at Gaston Christian for fifteen years. Jonathan is passionate about Christian Education and loves middle school students! Jonathan has a wife and five children. All five children attend Gaston Christian School.

MIDDLE SCHOOL Staff Directory
Staff Member Department Email Address
Bachman, Summer Guidance Counselor sbachman@gastonchristian.org
Blackledge, Rachel English Language Arts 7 & HS Geography 8 rblackledge@gastonchristian.org
Boyd, Christina English Language Arts 6 & Writing 6, 7, 8 cboyd@gastonchristian.org
Brack, Heidi Director of Fine Arts, Theatre Arts hbrack@gastonchristian.org
Brandon, Melissa Technology Support mbrandon@gastonchristian.org
Collins, Ricky Band/Music Theory/Percussion 7 & 8 rcollins@gastonchristian.org
Cook, Dr. Tina Director of Cognitive Enrichment tcook@gastonchristian.org
Currence, Kay After School Care Director kcurrence@gastonchristian.org
Denham, Julie Girls Bible 7 & 8/Humanities Chair jdenham@gastonchristian.org
Erwin, Randy Director of Communications rerwin@gastonchristian.org
Grahl, Patricia Integrated Science 6/Earth Science 8/ STEAM Chair pgrahl@gastonchristian.org
Griffin, Katie Cognitive Enrichment Specialist kgriffin@ gastonchristian.org
Hawxwell, Tom Athletic Director thawxwell@gastonchristian.org
Huitt, Dr. Jonathan Principal jchuitt@gastonchristian.org
Johnson, Charity American History I (6th) & American History II (7th) cjohnson@gastonchristian.org
Leonard, Abby Registered Nurse aleonard@gastonchristian.org
Lester, Patrick MS Physical Education/Dir. of Diversity & Inclusion plester@gastonchristian.org
Luke, Kristal HS Algebra I & Math Concepts (6/7) kluke@gastonchristian.org
Lynn, Stephanie Bible 6/HS Spanish I (8)/Study Skills (6) slynn@gastonchristian.org
Matheney, Kyle Concert Chorus/Music 6, 7, 8 kmatheney@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason MS Physical Education jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Overton, Jill MS Art joverton@gastonchristian.org
Parker, Karen MS Assistant kparker@gastonchristian.org
Piercy, Dr. Ed Boys Bible 6/STEAM 7 epiercy@gastonchristian.org
Rabb, Pattiann English Language Arts 8/Assistant Principal prabb@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Mike Security mrobinson@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Parker Boys Bible 7 & 8 probinson@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Riley Life Science 7/Pre-Algebra rrobinson@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Trina Computer Science 6/MS Finance 6, 7, 8 trobinson@gastonchristian.org
Rushing, Tameron Registered Nurse trushing@gastonchristian.org
Schmidt, Samantha MS Physical Education sschmidt@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara Registered Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org
Uecker, Dr. Joel Associate Head of School/Academic Dean juecker@gastonchristian.org
Van Pelt, Leigh Athletics Assistant lvanpelt@gastonchristian.org

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This