loader image

ELEMENTARY

Our Elementary School program builds upon the strong Biblical and academic foundation of our pre-school and kindergarten. The elementary program uses a blend of Abeka, Bob Jones, and Purposeful Design curriculum. Scott Foresman Reading Street and Sadlier-Oxford Vocabulary Workshop are used in 5th grade. Students also have a weekly rotation of Fine Arts, computer skills, library, and physical education.

From “See You At The Pole” in September to National Day of Prayer in May, our students quickly learn about the power of prayer and it’s importance in our everyday lives. We have a group of dedicated parents that meet on campus every Thursday morning to lift up our school, our students and their families, our faculty and our administration, our community, our nation and our leaders. Elementary students also attend Chapel for a time of worship and continued teaching from the Bible and also have opportunities to lead worship in our Chapel times.

Elementary students have many opportunities for enrichment through activities such as Girls on the Run (girls in grades 3-5), 5th Grade Band, Bricks for Kidz and we have recently started a Cyberkids Robotics team for 4th and 5th graders.

Students in grades 1-5 are also able to participate in our Jr. Eagles Athletic program in soccer, basketball, cheerleading, t-ball, and coach pitch. Our High school students also provided after-school sports clinics for our Elementary students. Technology is one of our focuses as we work to engage the 21st century learner.

We have recently added two Net Book labs for teachers to take into their classrooms. Several of our classrooms have interactive whiteboards installed for the students to utilize in addition to several mobile interactive whiteboards in our building.

Our desire is that Christ is glorified through all that we do at GCS.

Elementary School Principal 

Denika Alston

Denika Alston joined our administration in 2021 and has been an amazing addition to our school. Her love for the Lord, her love for our teachers, students, and parents, and her commitment to excellent academics at Gaston Christian School made our selection rather clear. Mrs. Alston has a Master of Education degree in Independent and Charter School Leadership from Mercer University and she came to Gaston Christian after several years as Elementary Principal at Bethlehem Christian Academy in Georgia. Her specialization and experience in leadership education equipped her to immediately be a great fit for our school. Please join us in thanking Mrs. Alston for her willingness to accept this very important position at our school.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL Staff Directory
Staff Member Department Email Address
Alston, Denika Principal Dalston@Gastonchristian.org
Burns, Katie First Garde kburns@gastonchristian.org
Byarlay, Kathy Fourth Grade kbyarlay@gastonchristian.org
Chew, Karen Fifth Grade kchew@gastonchristian.org
Eshaghi, Andrea Computer (3rd-5th) aeshaghi@gastonchristian.org
Goldenberg, Jennifer Fifth Grade Jgoldenberg@gastonchristian.org
Gordon, Tammy Library tgordon@gastonchristian.org
Grubbs, Lisa Third Grade lgrubbs@gastonchristian.org
Gunter, Bethany Fifth grade bgunter@gastonchristian.org
Haggard, Hannah First Grade hhaggard@gastonchristian.org
Hawxwell, Amy Third Grade ahawxwell@gastonchristian.org
Herman, Jennifer Fifth Grade jherman@gastonchristian.org
Hines, Kailee Fourth Grade khines@gastonchristian.org
Hoersch, Cathy Third Grade Choersch@gastonchristian.org
Huffstetler, Benita Third Grade bhuffstetler@gastonchristian.org
Jones, Lauren Fourth Grade Ljones@gastonchristian.org
Kelly, Lindsey Second Grade lkelly@gastonchristian.org
Lambert, Holly Art K-5th grade hlambert@gastonchristian.org
Long, Kristen Second Grade klong@gastonchristian.org
Lovelace, Brandon Computer (1st – 2nd) blovelace@gastonchristian.org
Matheney, Kyle Music Teacher kmatheney@gastonchristian.org
Miller, Lyndsey Second Grade lmiller@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason Physical Ed. jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Nance, Nikkie Fourth Grade nnance@gastonchristian.org
Prescott, Jessie First Grade jprescott@gastonchristian.org
Renfroe, Jayda Second Grade jrenfroe@gastonchristian.org
Stacy, Teri Secretary tstacy@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org

 

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This