ELEMENTARY

Our Elementary School program builds upon the strong Biblical and academic foundation of our pre-school and kindergarten. The elementary program uses a blend of Abeka, Bob Jones, and Purposeful Design curriculum. Scott Foresman Reading Street and Sadlier-Oxford Vocabulary Workshop are used in 5th grade. Students also have a weekly rotation of Fine Arts, computer skills, library, and physical education.

From “See You At The Pole” in September to National Day of Prayer in May, our students quickly learn about the power of prayer and it’s importance in our everyday lives. We have a group of dedicated parents that meet on campus every Thursday morning to lift up our school, our students and their families, our faculty and our administration, our community, our nation and our leaders. Elementary students also attend Chapel for a time of worship and continued teaching from the Bible and also have opportunities to lead worship in our Chapel times.

Elementary students have many opportunities for enrichment through activities such as Girls on the Run (girls in grades 3-5), 5th Grade Band, Bricks for Kidz and we have recently started a Cyberkids Robotics team for 4th and 5th graders.

Students in grades 1-5 are also able to participate in our Jr. Eagles Athletic program in soccer, basketball, cheerleading, t-ball, and coach pitch. Our High school students also provided after-school sports clinics for our Elementary students. Technology is one of our focuses as we work to engage the 21st century learner.

We have recently added two Net Book labs for teachers to take into their classrooms. Several of our classrooms have interactive whiteboards installed for the students to utilize in addition to several mobile interactive whiteboards in our building.

Our desire is that Christ is glorified through all that we do at GCS.

Elementary School Principal 

Susan Jennings

Susan received a degree from Southern Wesleyan University, where she studied psychology and education. She has been married to David Jennings for 41 years. Their three children are graduates of Gaston Christian School: Allison works in restaurant management; Holly is a stay-at-home mom to Susan’s first grandchild, Heidi June Lambert; David II is an oncology nurse practitioner at Levine Cancer Center in Charlotte. Susan has been with GCS for 27 years.

She taught at the Catawba Heights Campus, and then moved to the Parkwood Campus as the elementary principal, and now serves as Early Childhood Principal. She formerly taught at Kernersville Wesleyan Academy (Kernersville, NC), First Wesleyan Christian School (Gastonia, NC), and Nazarene Christian School (Asheville, NC).

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL Staff Directory

Staff Member Department Email Address
Byarlay, Kathy Fourth Grade kbyarlay@gastonchristian.org
Chew, Karen Fourth Grade kchew@gastonchristian.org
Cleveland, Melinda Fifth Grade mcleveland@gastonchristian.org
Gordon, Tammy Library tgordon@gastonchristian.org
Grubbs, Lisa Third Grade lgrubbs@gastonchristian.org
Haggard, Hannah First Grade hhaggard@gastonchristian.org
Hawxwell, Amy Third Grade ahawxwell@gastonchristian.org
Herman, Jennifer Fifth Grade jherman@gastonchristian.org
Hinson, Rebecca Fifth Grade rhinson@gastonchristian.org
Howard, Susie Fifth Grade showard@gastonchristian.org
Huffstetler, Benita Third Grade bhuffstetler@gastonchristian.org
Jennings, Susan Principal sjennings@gastonchristian.org
Jones, Joan Art (3rd - 5th) jjones@gastonchristian.org
Kelly, Lindsey Second Grade lkelly@gastonchristian.org
Lambert, Holly Art (1st and 2nd) hlambert@gastonchristian.org
Lovelace, Brandon Computer (1st - 2nd) blovelace@gastonchristian.org
Matheney, Kyle Music Teacher kmatheney@gastonchristian.org
Miller, Lyndsey First Grade lmiller@gastonchristian.org
Moore, Jason Physical Ed. jmoore@gastonchristian.org
Nance, Nikkie Fourth Grade nnance@gastonchristian.org
Prescott, Jessie First Grade jprescott@gastonchristian.org
Proctor, Ashley Second Grade aproctor@gastonchristian.org
Renfroe, Jayda Second Grade jrenfroe@gastonchristian.org
Robinson, Trina Computer (3rd-5th) trobinson@gastonchristian.org
Spear, Sharon Nurse sspear@gastonchristian.org
Stacy, Teri Secretary tstacy@gastonchristian.org
Thornburg, Gina Fourth Grade gthornburg@gastonchristian.org
Thornburg, Pam Second Grade pthornburg@gastonchristian.org
Tugwell, Sara Nurse stugwell@gastonchristian.org

 

 

COME CHECK US OUT

Visit Gaston Christian School

Come spend some time with us and discover how your child can be challenged and thrive in the exciting learning environment at Gaston Christian School.

SIGN UP FOR OUR SCHOOL BLOG

Early Childhood Office:
(704) 824-9893

Elementary School Office:
(704) 824-9011

Middle School Office:
(704) 349-5030

High School Office:
(704) 349-5020

Business Office:
(704) 349-5025
FAX (704) 349-5027

Admissions Office:
(704) 824-4128
FAX (704) 349-5027
Email: gcs@gastonchristian.org

Gaston Christian School
1625 Lowell Bethesda Rd. Gastonia, N.C.  28056

Gaston Christina School is the best private Christian school in Gaston County, North Carolina. We are also the best private Christian school in the following North Carolina counties: Mecklenburg County, Lincoln County, Cleveland County and York County. In addition to these counties, we are also the best private Christian school for Gastonia, Belmont, Cramerton, Lowell, Lincolnton, Bessemer City, Charlotte, Mt. Holly and the surrounding areas. If you want a premier private Christian education with top-tier instruction, athletics and extracurricular activities, Gaston Christian School is the best private Christian school in Gastonia, NC for you!

Share This