Connor Joyce (8th) won an honorable mention for a playwriting contest

Thank you for another amazing year of NCYPF play submissions! We had some fantastic Elementary, Middle, and High School plays submitted! Below are listed the winning plays and Honorable Mention plays.  

All winning plays will be given a staged reading at Center Stage at UNCG on March 16.  It is requested that each winning playwright be present at the final rehearsal that morning and during the showcase so that the playwright can participate in a talk-back session with the audience following their play’s reading. 

We encourage and invite all submitting playwrights to attend CenterStage.  Honorable Mentions will be recognized at the festival and will receive a certificate. Please be looking for more information soon regarding logistics for March 16. 

Congratulations to all!



Winner= A Magical Place by Asia Hefner from Oxford Elementary School, teacher: Chad Schuermeyer  

Honorable Mention= Basketball Hero by Brandon Lawson from Oxford Elementary School, teacher: Chad Schuermeyer


Middle School:

Winner= Cora Versus the Space-Time Continuum by Trudy Campbell from The Academy at Lincoln, teacher: Cassy Whitley 

Honorable Mention=Leadward by Connor Joyce from Gaston Christian School, teacher: Maralie Medlin

High School:

Winner= The Art of Escape by Abigail Shorter from Enloe HS, teacher: Koko Thornton  

Winner= Dinners with Aaron by Isabel Rhoten from Weaver Academy, teacher: Keith Taylor  

Winner= Strangers in the Rain by Donner Rizzo-Banks from Asheville High School, teacher: CJ Breland  

Honorable Mention= Between by Lenna Murfin from Western Alamance High School, teacher: Christina Caltagirone  

Honorable Mention= Modern Art by Shakirah Miller from Western Alamance High School, teacher: Christina Caltagirone

Honorable Mention= The Wrath of Hades by George Pruden from West Caldwell HS, teacher: Tara Hatton  


With Kind Regards,

Chad Schuermeyer

NCYPF Script Coordinator